Homesick

by Line

It’s never fun being homesick, it’s like your body hurts from the inside and out with no reason, and it’s hard to cure. Today I miss my family, my room, my books and most of all a nice hug from a good friend. I don’t know what to do to make it better, I don’t know what I want anymore. I would love to give away English lessons to kids, I think I could do it too, but I don’t know if I could do it if this homesickness continues. Wouldn’t it be better being sad around family? Around friends that could make me feel better? It wouldn’t be that nice to lead a good life here and miss everything back home at the same time, even if the rest would turn out perfect. I have a feeling I feel like this today because I haven’t done anything the last couple of days. Today is fiesta, and I don’t have to go to work, which means I have another day of not doing anything special. Fortunately mom has asked me to help out in the cafeteria today, all the pilgrims has finally arrived and they all need food (tomorrow the pope will be in town, so the city and suburbs around are all full of people). Doing something would be good for me I think, doing something at least makes me suppress my feelings so I don’t have to worry about much else. But it’ll turn out great, don’t worry – it’s healthy to be homesick sometimes, and just give me four or five days and I’ll assure you that I’ll feel better in an instant!

One thing that makes everything better in all this is my fantastic mom, nothing is better than sending an email and receive an answer full of love, understanding and words that makes something better in the middle of this chaotic day of feelings. Thank you mom, you are the best!

Tomorrow is another day of work, and I hope they’ll give me something cool to do, at least that’s the impression I got on Friday – that this week will be a bit more work and less staring at the roof as last week was. If it doesn’t though, at least I’ll be able to sit around and learn more about how a Spanish office works, and after work I have decided to go to Madrid to get a haircut (if there’s not to much people because of the pope that is). Wish me luck!

