Permanently marked

by Line

Today is a great day, today I’m happy. Today I haven’t thought about anything, I haven’t been sad (I haven’t done anything else than watching a whole season of One Tree Hill, but who actually cares as long as I’m happy, right?). Sometimes I find it hard to actually express my happy feelings through my blog, so you have to trust me when I say that I’m sitting here with a huge grin on my face (mostly because Eric and I have a discussion about how a mix between a hippo and a sparrow would look like, but that’s not the point). Mixing animals is not what this post will be about though, I will tell you about this;

As you can see, I’ve been tramp-stamped (not really, but I have a feeling mommy won’t like this either way), and I am very pleased with the outcome. As I can hear my moms questions already I will answer them shortly and then move on to why I did it, and why I chose the word “vivo”. I did it Thursday at a tattoo-store in the center, it took ten minutes, cost 50 euro’s, didn’t hurt that much and yes, I had someone with me (you know I’m just teasing you mom, hehe).

I have been thinking about doing a tattoo for many years, but I always swore I wouldn’t do it until I was certain that the tattoo I chose would be the right one for me. First I thought about doing a Scorpio (because both my grandma and I are scorpions), but I was never sure what kind of “design” I wanted, or where I wanted it, so I didn’t think about it that often too tell you the truth. But then it all changed; About a month ago I started to play with the thought of doing something on my wrist, and I spent days with a black pen writing and figuring out what would look best and what would have the best message, it is after all something that will be with me for the rest of my life. I ended up with the word “vivo” which means “alive” or “I live”, because lately I’ve been thinking a lot, and I can feel that I am changing into something that feels like a better and more positive person. The most important message in all this thinking of mine is that I am alive, I can choose to make my life the life I want to live! Nothing can keep me from being the person I want to be, or from doing what I want to be happy, to love my life and the people in it. Nothing can keep me from choosing to be something special, after all, life is what you make it and if we don’t stay alive and choose to live, we will get nothing from it. I choose to live, and stay alive in the best way possible. I choose to make my life an adventure filled with learning, challenges and laughter. And that’s why I got the tattoo, so that I in times of doubt can look at it and remember what I want from life. Cliche? You might say so, but I’m starting to really enjoy life, and I don’t want to lose that, because to tell you the truth – it feels pretty good!

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do, so throw off the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade wind in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”
Mark Twain

