A social suicide absence?

by Line

Why does not announcing my coming back home, on facebook, feel more or less like a social suicide? Do we live through facebook, twitter and other social networks now? What happened to a text or a phone call?

I was kind of hoping that the ones I feel like are my closest friends would check into this blog once in a while to see what I was doing, especially because that’s my last update on my “social-life”, facebook. If they had done so, they would have known that I’m back, that I’m working normal hours and that I’m just a phone call or a short drive away, and that I, on top of that, have all afternoons and weekends off. I was hoping for more cafeteria-visits and long evenings catching up, but so far it’s mostly been on my own initiative. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t mind sending a text saying “hey, I’m home, wanna grab a coffee?” or “can I come over, I’m back”, but it would be nice to be asked too (and not just because you haven’t seen me in several years and want me to get drunk and stay the night because I look better now than what I did then – I would prefer a coffee).

There is so much more to life than living through facebook, and you know it’s taking over when you get comments that says “Hey, I miss you online!”. Oh really, you do? Why? So I can comment your wall and make it look like you have a life too? Wouldn’t it rather look better with the two of us in the same picture actually doing something, off screen? No, I’m tired of living through our social networks, they are good to have when it comes to keeping in touch with long distance friends you don’t have a chance to see that often, but except from that it’s a time-thief that steal hours from your daily life you could have spent in so many different ways. Like this for example;

Met Cecilia Samartin again today with Isabel, awesome!

PS: There will be more frequent updates soon, I just need to know that I can spend that certain hours I’ve decided to spend blogging and not more, before I turn it (that energy-taking bastard know as my computer) off. Out living my life, see you soon!

